A document with the word caa on it.

Jun 19, 2015

4 min. read

Two true leaders are being honoured for keeping their fellow classmates safe.

Today, Annaka Boucher and Leatisha Ramloll (left and right, above) from École élémentaire publique Le Prélude in Ottawa will be recognized for their efforts with the CAA School Safety Patrollers of the Year Award. The Grade 6 students are described as responsible, hardworking and passionate about their school and the safety of their classmates.

“On behalf of CAA South Central Ontario (CAA SCO), it is a privilege to honour Annaka Boucher and Leatisha Ramloll with the School Safety Patrollers of the Year Award,” said Albert Pasceri, Community Relations Specialist, CAA SCO. “These students take their bus patroller responsibilities seriously and take safety to heart.”

This year, the two students initiated a project called “Sheriffs of the Bus” and quickly all other school safety patrollers recognized the value of the project and joined in. Each week, the “Sheriffs of the Bus” are nominated by patrollers for going above and beyond their duties. The sheriffs earn a badge, a certificate and their picture is also posted on the school website. This initiative has instilled pride in the students and has further encouraged them to behave safely on the school bus.

Annaka and Leatisha also took the time to put together a presentation which was circulated to each class in order to stress the importance of bus safety.

“A big thank you to Annaka and Leatisha for all your hard work, time and great ideas,” added Pasceri.

CAA School Safety Patrollers volunteer their time to help keep their peers safe. There are currently over 55 police services, more than 800 schools and over 20,000 elementary school students involved in the program. For more information, visit www.caaschoolsafetypatrol.com

Share this article: